Choose your direction at Gadsden State! Apply Now!

Honors Day 2013: Allen Ray/President’s Cup/Outstanding Achievement & Anniston Area

Annual Honor’s Day events were held recently in Gadsden at the Wallace Hall Fine Arts Center and in Anniston at the McClellan Center.  The events span two

days of recognizing student’s achievements and scholarship presentations. Over 150 students were honored and more than $285,000 was awarded in scholarships.

Traditionally one of the highest honors presented each spring is the Allen-Ray Award.  The award is presented in honor of the late Senator James B. Allen and the late Jack Ray, former CEO of the Exchange Bank of Alabama.  Both men were active supporters of Gadsden State.

allen ray winner

Michael Holt

Michael David Holt of Rainbow City is the recipient of the 2013 Allen-Ray Award.  While attending Gadsden State on a Fine Arts Scholarship, Holt was chosen as a homecoming favorite and received Silver Scholar All-USA Academic Team recognition.  He has a 4.0 GPA and plans to become a counselor.

The President’s Cup, a designated award for students who demonstrate exceptional success in all phases of college life, was presented to Mollie Joan Strickland of Gadsden

Mollie Strickland

and Donna Jean McBride of Anniston for the Academic Division. 

presidents cup anniston

Donna McBride

Strickland was president of SGA and Phi Theta Kappa and also a recipient of the Silver Scholar All-USA Academic Team recognition.  McBride was a member of Phi Theta Kappa and Phi Beta Lambda.

Steven Charles Martinez of Attalla and Kimberly Baird Dumasof Boaz received the award in the Technical Division.

presidents cup technical

Steven Martinez

Kimberly Dumas

Martinez was president of the National Technical Honor Society and a NASA Aerospace Scholar.  Dumas was a member of the Student Government Association.

Six students were presented awards for outstanding achievement including Michael Erwin of Anniston, Denise Gilbert of Jacksonville,

Michael Erwin


Denise Gilbert

Darnell Mackey of Gadsden, Sarah Van Vleck of Ashville, Jessica Herrera of Gadsden, and Faith Mostella of Springville.Many other awards of recognition and scholarships were presented to additional students during the ceremony.

Special awards and scholarships were presented recently during Gadsden State’s annual Ayers Campus and McClellan Center Honor’s Day Program held at the McClellan Center Auditorium in Anniston.  Students who received awards and scholarships are:

President’s Cup Award… Academic Division…Donna McBride, Anniston; Technical Division…Kimberly Dumas, Boaz;

Outstanding Achievement Award…Michael Erwin, Anniston and Denise Gilbert, Jacksonville;

Dr. Bernard J. Schroer Alabama Automotive Manufacturers Association & GSCC CARCAM Technical Scholarship…M. Ryan Erwin, Anniston;

Literary Excellence Award…Lauren Cleveland, Anniston;

Outstanding Accounting Technology Students…Lisa Milinkovich, Fruithurst and Amber Plumley, Oxford;

Outstanding Achievement in Computer Science Technology…Jesse Dryden, Heflin and Marshall Moore, Anniston;

Outstanding Ambassadors…Taylor Hollis, Anniston; Jaleesa Mitchell, Jacksonville; and Blake Turner, Alexandria;

Outstanding Art Student…Anna-Marie Kennedy, Alexandria;

Outstanding Child Development Student… Ginger Crowe, Anniston;

Outstanding Economics Student…Erin Smith, Newell and Joseph Faucett, Piedmont;

Outstanding History Students …Timothy Baskins and Garrett Bell, Alexandria; Kimberly Burton and Donna McBride, Anniston; Sydney Bush, Oxford; Aimee Hopkins, Weaver; Henry Kerr, Heflin; and Nathan Roberts, Jacksonville;

Outstanding Mathematics StudentsDonna McBride, Jimmy McBride, and Chloe Smith, Anniston;

Outstanding SGA Officers…Ugoma Ozor-Ilo, Oxford; and Mynjuan Smith, Anniston;

Outstanding Office Administration Student (High Achievement) …Christy Brown, Jacksonville;

Outstanding Office Administration Student…Leslie Fitch, Ohatchee;

Outstanding Speech StudentsKelly Cash and Christopher Napier, Anniston; Lindsey Hinkle, Piedmont; and Jeret Warren Alexandria;

Outstanding Surgical Technology Students…Kimberly Dumas, Boaz and Brenda White, Jacksonville;

Technology Division Outstanding Achievement:

     Air Conditioning & Refrigeration… Zackery Poss, Lincoln;

     Auto Collision Repair Technology…Pattric Ferguson, Springville;

     Automotive Manufacturing Technology… Clyde Micham, Oxford;

     Cosmetology Technology… Brandi Cofield, Heflin;

     Cosmetology Esthetics Technology…Anna Hadley, Woodland;

     Diesel Technology… Stephen Hurst, Jacksonville;

     Drafting and Design Technology… Richard Barnhill, Anniston;    

     Electrical Technology… Daniel Magouirk, Choccolocco;

     Electronic Engineering Technology… Winston Gooden, Talladega;

     Industrial Automation Technology… Jarred Shealey, Heflin;

     Machine Tool Technology… John Caldwell, Talladega;

     Welding Technology… Jeret Warren, Alexandria

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges 2013 certificates were presented at the conclusion of the program.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>